BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 Giro D'Italia: Stage 6

Back to 2012 Giro page | Stage map and profile | Stage 6 photos |

Stage 6, Friday, May 11: Urbino - Porto Sant' Elpidio, 207 km

Stage 6 finish

The Race: Early on, a break rolled off, but the peloton was indifferent to it until the final 12 kilometers. On the final rated climb (there was much more climbing to do after that) with about 35 km to go, Miguel Angel Rubiano took off from the break, looking for KOM points. At the top, seeing he had a big gap, he kept going. And going. And going.

In the final 12 km Garmin put some men on the front to see if the remainders of the break with Michal Golas and Adriano Malori, who were likely to fight it out for the Pink Jersey in the sprint, could be pulled back in time. Too late. Malori (2011 Tour de france Lanterne Rouge) won the field sprint and the 12-second time bonus to become the Giro's new leader. Pink Jersey Ramunas Navardauskas suffered all the tortures of Hell today as he tried to get his tired body over one rise after another, eventually losing more than 15 minutes.


  1. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli) 5hr 38min 30sec. 37.223 km/hr
  2. Adriano Malori (Lampre) @ 1min 10sec
  3. Michel Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  4. Aleksandr Dyachenko (Astna) s.t.
  5. Cesare Bendetti (NetApp) s.t.
  6. Daryl Impey (GreenEdge) @ 1min 51sec
  7. Filippo Pozzato (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  8. Fabio Sabatini (Liquigas) s.t.
  9. Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) s.t.
  10. Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  11. Geoffrey Soupe (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  12. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) s.t.
  13. Jan Bakelants (Radio shack-Nissan) s.t.
  14. Fabio Felline (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  15. Lars Ytting Bak (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  16. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  17. Sonny Colbrelli (Colnago-CSF) s.t.
  18. Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  19. Gatis Smukulis (Katusha) s.t.
  20. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  21. Jon Izaguirre (Euskaltel) s.t.
  22. Luke Roberts (Saxo) s.t.
  23. Julien Berard (Ag2r) s.t.
  24. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) s.t.
  25. Emanuele Sella (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  26. Alessandro Ballan (BMC) s.t.
  27. Matteo Tosatto (Saxo) s.t.
  28. Thomas Rohregger (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  29. Grischa Niermann (Rabobank) s.t.
  30. Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky) s.t.
  31. Jan Barta (NetApp) s.t.
  32. Sergi Pardilla (Movistar) s.t.
  33. José Rujano (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  34. Guillaume Bonnafond (Ag2r) s.t.
  35. Tom Jelte Slagter (Rabobank) s.t.
  36. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  37. Enrico Gasparotto (Astana) s.t.
  38. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) s.t.
  39. Volodymir Gustov (Saxo) s.t.
  40. Francis De Greef (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  41. Adam Hansen (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  42. Mauro Santambrogio (BMC) s.t.
  43. Bart De Clercq (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  44. Tanel Kangert (Astana) s.t.
  45. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  46. Anders Lund (Saxo) s.t.
  47. Bartosz Huzarski (NetApp) s.t.
  48. Nelson Oliveira (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  49. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) s.t.
  50. Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel) s.t.
  51. Ramunas Navardauskas (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 15min 40sec

GC after Stage 6:

  1. Pink Jersey Adriano Malori (Lampre) 20hr 25min 28sec
  2. Michal Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 15sec
  3. Ryder Hesjedal (Gamin-Barracuda) @ 17sec
  4. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli) @ 30sec
  5. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 32sec
  6. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) @ 36sec
  7. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 37sec
  8. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) @ 39sec
  9. Enrico Gasparotto (Astana) s.t.
  10. Luke Roberts (Saxo) @ 41sec
  11. Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  12. Nelson Oliveira (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 43sec
  13. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  14. Marco Pinotti (BMC) s.t.
  15. Maciej Bodnar (Liquigas) s.t.
  16. Angel Vicioso (Katusha) @ 44sec
  17. Roman kreuziger (Astana) @ 46sec
  18. Tanel Kangert (Astana) s.t.
  19. Gatis Smukulis (Katusha) @ 47sec
  20. Fabio Sabatini (Liquigas) @ 48sec
  21. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) @ 53sec
  22. Pavel Brutt (Katusha) s.t.
  23. Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky) @ 55sec
  24. Daryl Impey (GreenEdge) @ 56sec
  25. Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) s.t.
  26. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) @ 57sec
  27. Jan Bakelants (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  28. Alessandro Ballan (BMC) @ 58ses
  29. Thomas Rohregger (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 59sec
  30. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) @ 1min 1sec
  31. Cesare Benedetti (NetApp) @ 1min 2sec
  32. Valerio Agnoli (Liquigas) s.t.
  33. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) s.t.
  34. Eros Capecchi (Liquigas) @ 1min 3sec
  35. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) s.t.
  36. Matteo Tosatto (Saxo) s.t.
  37. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) @ 1min 4sec
  38. Jan Barta (NetApp) @ 1min 5sec
  39. Branislau Samoilau (Movistar) @ 1min 7sec
  40. Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 1min 8sec
  41. José Herrada (Movistar) @ 1min 9sec
  42. Kevin Seeldrayers (Astana) s.t.
  43. Sylvester Szmyd (Liquigas) @ 1min 13sec
  44. Andrey Amador (Movistar) s.t.
  45. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 1min 15sec
  46. Simone Ponzi (Astana) @ 1min 16sec
  47. Filippo Pozzato (Farnese Vini) @ 1min 19sec
  48. Diego Ulissi (Lampre) s.t.
  49. Bartosz Huzarski (NetApp) @ 1min 20sec
  50. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) s.t.

Points Competition

  1. Red jersey Matthew Harley Goss (GreenEdge): 65 points
  2. Mark Cavendish (Sky): 53
  3. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli): 36
  4. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-GreenEdge): 30
  5. Geraint Thomas (Sky): 26

Climbers' Competition

  1. Blue Jersey Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli): 24 points
  2. Michal Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick step): 16
  3. Cesare Benedetti (NetApp): 7
  4. Alfredo Balloni (Farnese Vini): 6
  5. Pier Paolo de Negri (Farnese Vini): 3

Young Rider

  1. White jersey Adriano Malori (Lampre): 20hr 25min 28sec
  2. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 37sec
  3. Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 41sec
  4. Nelson Oliveira (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 43sec
  5. Tanel Kangert (Astana) @ 46sec


Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Barracuda)
Romain Feillu (Vacansoleil)
Thor Hushovd (BMC)
Pablo Lastras (Movistar)

Stage 6 map and profile

Stage 6 map

Stage 6 map

Stage 6 profile

Stage 6 profile

Stage 6 photos:

Cavendish and Goss

Mark Cavendish and Matthew Harley Goss before the start of a stage that will be far too hilly to suit their talents.

Frank Schleck and Ivan Basso

Fran Schleck and Ivan Basso has a much easier time of it.

Peloton starts

The pelton begins in Urbino with a tough day in the hills of Le Marche ahead of it.


Another picture of the peloton leaving Urbino.


Riding in Le Marche...what a beautiful place.


Looks pretty, but legs were broken today.

Pablo Lastras

Pablo Lastras crashed on a descent and was one of the four riders (also hushovd, Feillu and Farrar) to quit the Giro today.

Ramunas Navardauskas

Ramunas Navardauskas before he was shelled.

Michele Scarponi

Michele Scarponi (Lampre) looked quite relaxed today. Alessandro Ballan (BMC with rainbow cuffs) is just behind him.

Miguel rubiano

The move of the day. Miguel Angel Rubiano attacks the break.

Miguel Rubiano

And he's gone

Miguel Angel Rubiano

Long gone. Terrific ride.

Adriano Malori

Adriano Malori is the new Maglia Rosa