BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 Giro D'Italia: Stage 3

Back to 2012 Giro page | Photos | Stage map and profile | Video |

Stage 3, May 7: Horsens - Herning, 190 km

Stage 3 finish

The race: Another flat stage, another crash. This time, a rider switched across Mark Cavendish's front wheel, taking Cavendish and then others, down hard. Maglia rosa Taylor Phinney was among the fallen. He was treated in an ambulance. Then, ankle bandaged, Phinney accepted the Pink Jersey at the awards ceremony. Matthew Harley Goss looked to have the better placement as the sprint began as before the crash Cavendish was a bit back and without teammates. But Cavendish has won races with worse initial postioning.


    Tour de France: the Inside Story
  1. Matthew Harley Goss (GreenEdge) 4hr 20min 53sec. 44.157 km/hr
  2. Juan José Haedo (Saxo) s.t.
  3. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  4. Arnaud Demare (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  5. Mark Renshaw (Rabobank) s.t.
  6. Thos Hushovd (BMC) s.t.
  7. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) s.t.
  8. Romain Feillu (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  9. Fumiyuki Beppu (GreenEdge) s.t.
  10. Andrea Guardini (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  11. Alex Rasmussen (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  12. Geoffrey Soupe (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  13. Jack Bauer (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  14. Daniel Schorn (NetApp) s.t.
  15. Giacomo Nizzolo (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  16. Manuel Belletti (Ag2r) s.t.
  17. Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) s.t.
  18. Robert Hunter (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  19. Elia Favilli (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  20. Tomas Vaitkus (GreenEdge) s.t.
  21. Francesco Chicchi (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  22. Jens Keukeleire (GreenEdge) s.t.
  23. Christian Meier (GreenEdge) s.t.
  24. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  25. Daniele Bennati (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  26. Brett Lancaster (GreenEdge) s.t.
  27. Matthias Brandle (NetApp) s.t.
  28. Emanuele Sella (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  29. Fabio Sabatini (Liquigas) s.t.
  30. Luke Roberts (Saxo) s.t.
  31. Jan Bakelants (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  32. Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Saxo) s.t.
  33. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) s.t.
  34. Daniele Pietropolli (Lampre) s.t.
  35. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) s.t.
  36. Francis De Greef (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  37. Thomas Rohregger (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  38. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  39. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) s.t.
  40. Oliver Zaugg (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  41. Manuele Boaro (Saxo) s.t.
  42. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  43. Matteo Monteguti (Ag2r) s.t.
  44. Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  45. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) s.t.
  46. Marco Pinotti (BMC) s.t.
  47. Thomas Leezer (Rabobank) s.t.
  48. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) s.t.
  49. Michal Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  50. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) s.t.

GC after Stage 3:

  1. Pink Jersey Taylor Phinney (BMC) 9hr 24min 31sec
  2. Geraint Thomas (Sky) @ 9sec
  3. Alex Rasmussen (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 13sec
  4. Manuele Boaro (Saxo) @ 15sec
  5. Ramunas Navardauskas (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 18sec
  6. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) @ 22sec
  7. Brett Lancaster (GreenEdge) @ 23sec
  8. Matthew Harley Goss (GreenEdge) s.t.
  9. Marco Pinotti (BMC) @ 24sec
  10. Jesse Sergent (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 26sec
  11. Nelson Oliveira (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 27sec
  12. Tomas Vaitkus (GreenEdge) s.t.
  13. Mark Cavendish (Sky) s.t.
  14. Stef Clement (Rabobank) @ 28sec
  15. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  16. Robert Hunter (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  17. Jack Bauer (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  18. Maciej Bodnar (Liquigas) @ 29sec
  19. Enrico Gasparotto (Astana) s.t.
  20. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  21. Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  22. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 31sec
  23. Filippo Pozzato (Farnese Vini) @ 32sec
  24. Giacomo Nizzolo (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  25. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  26. Svein Tuft (GreenEdge) @ 33sec
  27. Julien Vermote (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  28. Adriano Malori (Lampre) s.t.
  29. Fabio Sabatini (Liquigas) @ 34sec
  30. Jan Barta (NetApp) s.t.
  31. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) @ 36sec
  32. Tanel Kangert (Astana) s.t.
  33. Geoffrey Soupe (FDJ-Big Mat) @ 37sec
  34. Luke Roberts (Saxo) s.t.
  35. Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky) s.t.
  36. Alessandro Ballan (BMC) @ 39sec
  37. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) s.t.
  38. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) @ 41sec
  39. Jan Bakelants (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  40. Martin Velits (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  41. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) @ 42sec
  42. Sebastien Rosseler (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 43sec
  43. Daryl Impey (GreenEdge) s.t.
  44. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) s.t.
  45. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) s.t.
  46. Thomas Rohregger (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  47. Ian Stannard (Sky) s.t.
  48. Matthias Brandle (NetApp) s.t.
  49. Fabio Felline (Andronio Giocattoli) @ 44sec
  50. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  51. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 45sec

Points Competition

  1. Red jersey Matthew Harley Goss (GreenEdge): 45 points
  2. Tyler Farrar (GarmiBarracuda): 30
  3. Mark Cavendish (Sky): 28
  4. Geraint Thomas (Sky): 26
  5. Taylor Phinney (BMC): 20

Climbers' Competition

  1. Blue Jersey Alfredo Balloni (Farnese Vini): 6 points
  2. Ramunas Navadauskas (Garmin-Barracuda): 2
  3. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli): 2
  4. Olivier Kaisen (Lotto-Belisol): 1
  5. Miguel Minguez Ayala (Euskaltel): 1

Young Rider

  1. White jersey Taylor Phinney (BMC) 9hr 24min 31sec
  2. Manuele Boaro (Saxo) @ 15sec
  3. Ramunas Navardauskas (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 18sec
  4. Jesse Sergent (Radio shack-Nissan) @ 26sec
  5. Nelson Oliveira (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 27sec

Stage map and profile:

Stage 3 map

Stage 3 map

Stage 3 profile

Stage profile

Photos from Stage 3:

Daniele Bennati, Fran Schleck

Wouter Weylandt, who died in the 2011 Giro, was remembered before the stage start. Pictured: Daniele Bennati and Frank Schleck

Mark Cavendish

Mark Cavendish before the start

Brett Lancaster

Brett Lancaster

Lars Ytting Bak

Lars Ytting Bak. Note his helmet with the vents filled in.


Euskaltel before the start.

Johann Tschopp and Taylor Phinney

Johann Tschopp and Taylor Phinney

Matthew Harley Goss

Today's stage winner Matthew Harley Goss


Here they come. The crash has already happened.

Matthew Harley Goss

Matthew Harley Goss gets a big one.


Riders on the ground

Taylor Phinney

Taylor phinney gets help putting on his maglia rosa. Note the ice pack on his ankle.

Video of the final 5 kilometers with replays of the crash.