BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 Giro D'Italia: Stage 2

Back to 2012 Giro page | Stage map and profile | Photos |

Stage 2, Sunday, May 6: Herning - Herning, 206 km

Stage 2 finish

The race: A textbook flat stage. A trio of Alfredo Balloni, Miguel Rubiano and Olivier Kaisen went away early and were caught with about 40 km to go after having grown their lead to over 13 minutes at one point. Lars Ytting Bak soon tried his own luck, got almost a minute's lead, and was chased down.

There was some real drama. With about 8 km to go, maglia rosa Taylor Phinney went down. TV didn't catch the crash and by the time the cameras caught up to him, he was back up and waiting for a mechanic, who did a very slow repair. Then Phinney, one of the world's finest time trialists, did a solo chase of a pack that was starting to really go fast. A few of Phinney's BMC teammates eventually dropped back and Phinney regained the field.

There was a hard corner before the final straightaway and after most of the top sprinters had made it through safely, Theo Bos' bike couldn't hold the pavement after he touched the rear wheel of his leadout man Mark Renshaw, and there was a big, high-speed crash.

Results: (Photos at bottom of page)

    Cycling's 50 Craziest Stories
  1. Mark Cavendish (Sky) 4hr 53min 12sec. 42.155 km/hr
  2. Matthew Harley Goss (GreenEdge) s.t.
  3. Geoffrey Soupe (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  4. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  5. Roberto Ferrari (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  6. Mark Renshaw (Rabobank) s.t.
  7. Thor Hushovd (BMC) s.t.
  8. Daniele Bennati (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  9. William Bonnet (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  10. Geraint Thomas (Sky) s.t.
  11. Timon Seubert (NetApp) s.t.
  12. Mickael Delage (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  13. Robert Hunter (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  14. Matthias Brandle (NetApp) s.t.
  15. Daryl Impey (GreenEdge) s.t.
  16. Juan José Haedo (Saxo) s.t.
  17. Thomas Rohregger (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  18. Mirko Selvaggi (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  19. Fumiyuki Beppu (GreenEdge) s.t.
  20. Nikolas Maes (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  21. Aleksandr Kuchynski (Katusha) s.t.
  22. Manuele Boaro (Saxo) s.t.
  23. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  24. Arnaud Demare (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  25. Marco Pinotti (BMC) s.t.
  26. Filippo Pozzato (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  27. Fabio Sabatini (Liquigas) s.t.
  28. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  29. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) s.t.
  30. Luke Roberts (Saxo) s.t.
  31. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) s.t.
  32. Jens Keukeleire (GreenEdge) s.t.
  33. Daniele Pietropolli (Lampre) s.t.
  34. Julien Berard (Ag2r) s.t.
  35. Luca Sebastian Haedo (Saxo) s.t.
  36. Enrico Gasparotto (Astana) s.t.
  37. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  38. Francis De Greef (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  39. Tanel Kangert (Astana) s.t.
  40. Marzio Bruseghin (Movisar) s.t.
  41. Simone Ponzi (Astana) s.t.
  42. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) s.t.
  43. Emanuele Sella (Andorni Giocattoli) s.t.
  44. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  45. Jonas Asen Jorgensen (Saxo) s.t.
  46. Alex Rasmussen (Saxo) s.t.
  47. Gaetan Bille (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  48. Reto Hollenstein (NetApp) s.t.
  49. Alessandro Ballan (BMC) s.t.
  50. Ivan Santaromita (BMC) s.t.
  51. Taylor Phinney (BMC) s.t.

GC after Stage 2:

  1. Pink Jersey Taylor Phinney (BMC) 5hr 3min 38sec
  2. Geraint Thomas (Sky) @ 9sec
  3. Alex Rasmussen (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 13sec
  4. Manuele Boaro (Saxo) @ 15sec
  5. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) @ 22sec
  6. Ramunas Navardauskas (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  7. Brett Lancaster (GreenEdge) @ 23sec
  8. Marco Pinotti (BMC) @ 24sec
  9. Jesse Sergent (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 26sec
  10. Nelson Oliveira (Radio Chack-Nissan) @ 27sec
  11. Tomas Vaitkus (GreenEdge) s.t.
  12. Mark Cavendish (Sky) s.t.
  13. Stef Clement (Rabobank) @ 28sec
  14. Robert Hunter (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  15. Jack Bauer (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  16. Maciej Bodnar (Liquigas) @ 29sec
  17. Enrico Gasparotto (Astana) s.t.
  18. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  19. Michal Kwiatkowksi (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  20. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 31sec
  21. Filippo Pozzato (Farnese Vini) @ 32sec
  22. Giacomo Nizzolo (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  23. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  24. Svein Tuft (GreenEdge) @ 33sec
  25. Julien Vermote (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  26. Adriano Malori (Lampre) s.t.
  27. Fabio Sabatini (Liquigas) @ 34sec
  28. Jan Barta (NetApp) s.t.
  29. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) @ 36sec
  30. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  31. Tanel Kangert (Astana) s.t.
  32. Geoffrey Soupe (FDJ-Big Mat) @ 37sec
  33. Luke Roberts (Saxo) s.t.
  34. Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky) s.t.
  35. Alessandro Ballan (BMC) @ 39sec
  36. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) s.t.
  37. Martijn Keizer (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  38. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) @ 41sec
  39. Jan Bakelants (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  40. Martin Velits (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  41. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) @ 42sec
  42. Sebastian Rosseler (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 43sec
  43. Daryl Impey (GreenEdge) s.t.
  44. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) s.t.
  45. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) s.t.
  46. Matthew Harley Goss (GreenEdge) s.t.
  47. Thomas Rohregger (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  48. Ian Stannard (Sky) s.t.
  49. Matthias Brandle (NetApp) s.t.
  50. Fabio Felline (Androni Giocattoli) @ 44sec
  51. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 44sec
  52. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 45sec

Points Competition

  1. Red jersey Mark Cavendish (Sky): 28 points
  2. Geraint Thomas (Sky): 26
  3. Taylor Phinney (BMC): 25
  4. Matthew Harley Goss (GreenEdge): 20
  5. Alex Rasmussen (Garmin-Barracuda): 16

Climbers' Competition

  1. Blue Jersey Alfredo Balloni (Farnese Vini): 3 points
  2. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli): 2
  3. Olivier Kaisen (Lotto-Belisol): 1

Young Rider

  1. White jersey Taylor Phinney (BMC) 5hr 3min 38sec
  2. Manuele Boaro (Saxo) @ 15sec
  3. Ramnas Navardauskas (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 22sec
  4. Jesse Sergent (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 26sec
  5. Nelson Oliveira (Radio shack-Nissan) @ 27sec

Stage 2 map and profile:

Stage 2 map

Stage 2 map

Stage 2 profile

Stage 2 profile

Stage 2 photos

Damiano Cunego

Damiano Cunego at the start.

Michele Acquarone and Ginni Savio

Giro boss Michele Michele Acquarone and Gianni Savio, director of Androni Giocattoli

Manuele Belletti

Manuele Belletti

Taylor Phinney

Taylor Phinney signs in

Ivan Basso and Filippo Pozzato

Ivan Basso and Filippo Pozzato

Mark Cavendish and Taylor Phinney

Mark Cavendish and Taylor Phinney

Mauro Vegno

Race director Mauro Vegno

Ivan Santaromita, Taylor Phinney and Alessandro Ballan

After dropping his chain with 8 km to go, Taylor Phinney is escorted across the line by Ivan Santaromita and Alessandro Ballan

Taylor Phinney

Another day in pink for Phinney